One More Sunset by Jolyse Barnett — author interview

one mo sunset.jpg

Romantic Suspense
Date Published: September 21, 2015
 
 

Some people run for exercise while others run for fun. Abby Stone spends most days running for her life.

After Abby Stone’s ex-boyfriend shows up at her new hideout and she uses a bottle of wine as an impromptu weapon, calling the police is out of the question. His family has a knack for erasing charges and pesky restraining orders. Desperate, she prays for help. A magical suitcase appears and she’s compelled to play an unsettling game involving a sexy, kind stranger while staying one breath ahead of her stalker.

Dylan Reece has overcome tragedy and enjoys life as a single Key West handyman and fisherman. Yet Abby’s sad, wary eyes hold secrets and a chance for his redemption, if not more…

Will the magic of their love be enough to save them?

Tell us about this story.

One More Sunset is about a desperate young woman yearning to escape her past—quite literally in the form of a stalking ex. With a nudge from two powerful ancients and obtuse clues from a magical suitcase, she’s on an adventure from New York City to Key West, where she falls for a kind, sexy stranger whose demons match her own. Will the magic of their love be enough to save them?

What living person do you most admire?

I most admire my sixteen-year-old son. He has autism which often makes navigating our everyday world frustrating, overwhelming, and difficult for him. But still he pushes through, lighting and inspiring my world with his infectious energy and laugh, his focus on family and friends, and his effort to be his best self.

What is your most prized possession?

My imagination.

Which talent would you most like to have?

I’d love to be able to play the piano. After learning to read music and playing alto sax throughout high school, I begged my parents to buy me a piano. They did and I took weekly lessons for about a year before giving up the dream. I’ve always wondered if I’d quit too soon.

Who is your favorite fictional character of all time?

My favorite fictional female characters are Jane Austen’s Elizabeth Bennett and Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre, whose stories I read again and again as a teenager. As Jane overcame adversity and Elizabeth overcame an impulsiveness which caused her to make more than her share of poor decisions, so could I. These literary figures also gave me hope that I could have a lasting emotional connection with a man who would love me as I am.

Who’s the favorite character that you created?

That’s a tough question. I’ll beg off that one since I don’t want any of my characters to stop talking to me out of jealousy. Never know when I’ll need their input for a future storyline.

What’s your idea of perfect happiness?

Other than being at home with my family, teaching an eager group of children, or getting lost in a great story, my idea of perfect happiness is enjoying a romantic sunset sail on Key West waters with my honey.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I’d learn how to cook (I burn toast!), although my honey reassures me one chef in the family is enough. He’s sweet like that.

Author Jolyse Barnett writes contemporary romance and romantic suspense. As a little girl growing up in upstate New York on the shores of Lake Champlain, she enjoyed chasing fireflies, riding her ten-speed bike JO_HeadShotsunset-1on winding country roads, and playing horseshoes at family picnics through endless summers. Winter was another kind of adventure for an active kid, with skiing in the Adirondack Mountains, trips to the local public library to feed a voracious reading habit, and ice skating with her siblings on a frozen pond near her childhood home. Much to the confusion of her peers, she discovered the thrill of storytelling at a young age, often forgetting to differentiate between fact and fantasy. Thankfully her fifth grade teacher encouraged her to memorize poems and create her own—unleashing her inner writer. After graduating from high school, she developed a more practical side. She earned a degree in Writing, fell in love with her best friend, and now lives her happily-ever-after in Long Island suburbia. Who knew the dream home would include a leaky kitchen faucet, piles of laundry, and a too-hairy cat? But with love, it’s all good. She enjoys a fulfilling day job where she shares her love of language and explores the world one vacation at a time with her two children and real-life hero. Jolyse loves to connect with her readers. You can find her social media links and book news at http://jolysebarnett.com

 

Contact Information

Website: http://jolysebarnett.com

Blog: http://jolysebarnett.com/blog

 

Purchase Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/One-More-Sunset-Mystic-Escapes/dp/1513701738/ref=sr_1_1

 

 

Leave a Reply

