Crazy Dumplings by Amanda Roberts — Author Interview

crazy dumplings cover

Cookbook / Non-Fiction
Date Published: November 3, 2014
 
 

Dumplings. Wontons. Jiaozi. This remarkably simple food is found throughout Asia and in Chinese restaurants and kitchens around the world, but have you ever filled a dumpling wrapper with chicken? Lobster? North American Plains Bison? Hardly anyone has! The Crazy Dumplings Cookbook features over 100 recipes with some of the craziest and most delicious dumpling filling recipes you will ever see. From Chicken Taquito Dumplings to Timey-Wimey Dumplings to a dumpling for your dog, Crazy Dumplings will show you all the crazy things you can stuff into a dumpling wrapper for an easy meal or snack.

Tell us about this story.

Well, since this is a cookbook, there isn’t exactly a story. But in the introduction, I do talk about adapting to living in a new country when it comes to food, which wasn’t easy. 

In 2010, my husband and I moved from Orlando, Florida to the middle of nowhere Hunan, China. Even though we had spent 10 months preparing for the move and I spoke some Chinese, we probably experienced every kind of culture shock possible, and food was one of our biggest issues. 

“Crazy Dumplings” shows one of the fun ways we combined Western and Chinese food and bridge our home culture with our adopted one. 

What is your most prized possession?

A stuffed Little Foot that I have had since “The Land Before Time” premiered when I was 7 years old. He has always been with me and lives with me now in China. I still sleep with him every night. My husband doesn’t mind [Symbol]

Which talent would you most like to have?

I wish I could do art. It would be awesome to be able to write and draw. Some of my upcoming projects are very art-heavy (a graphic novel and a children’s book), so it would be much easier if I could do the art myself. However, I do enjoy the collaborative aspect of working with an art partner, so not being an artist also has its benefits. 

Who’s the favorite character that you created?

In a novel I have coming out next year – The Vampire’s Daughter – I wrote a fictionalized version of Dom Augustin Calmet, the first person who wrote a treatise on vampires. I reimagined him as a scarred, drunk vampire hunter. He’s hardened but is able to embrace life. He’s a great character. 

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

If I changed, then I wouldn’t be me. But I think I am always improving. 

***

crazy dumplings authorAmanda Roberts is an American writer, editor, and teacher who has lived in China since 2010. She has an MA in English and has published books, short stories, articles, poems, and essays in publications all over the world. She blogs about her life in China at TwoAmericansinChina.com and also heads the Women Writers of Shenzhen writers circle. She can be found all over the internet.

Contact Information

Website: http://www.twoamericansinchina.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TwoAmericansinChina

Twitter: https://twitter.com/2americanschina

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/amandachina/crazy-dumplings/

 

Purchase Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Crazy-Dumplings-Amanda-Roberts-ebook/dp/B00OVTRWKC

Leave a Reply

